My Favorite Type of Slut

Recently I had the opportunity to go to Vegas for a friend’s 40th birthday.  Interestingly enough it coincided with the AVN Awards.  For those not familiar, the AVN Awards are essentially the Oscars of the adult film industry.  While with that intro you are probably thinking I’m about to say something inappropriate about the AVN women, I’m not.  What I am going to talk about is my favorite type of slut, Eggslut.

Eggslut is in the food court area of the Cosmopolitan hotel.  Apparently, it started as a food truck in Los Angeles and has since branched out into a bricks and mortar concept.  The slut is with some good company, one of my favorite chefs David Chang, has a Momofuku Milk Bar next door.

Upon reaching the slut, I found the bain of every semi tasty joint in America, a line.  I suppose these days it’s impossible to have any decent meal without spending more time waiting for your food than it is to eat it.  Surprisingly, the line due the assembly line efficiency was no longer than 15 minutes.

Luckily along the sides of Eggslut they have LEDs with the menu displayed (http://www.eggslut.com/menu).  Not wanting to get outside of the box I chose the bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich.  The sandwich comes with your option of eggs cooked to your preference.  I opted to go with how the creator envisioned their masterpiece and chose over medium.  Finally, after 20 minutes I received my sandwich.

The packaging of the sandwich is pretty novel.  Each breakfast sandwich comes in its own little box and the sandwich itself is wrapped in deli paper, very similar to In N Out’s burger sleeve.  Presentation aside, overall, what makes this sandwich worth eating is the bun.  I’m not sure if they make the bun on site or have someone supply it, but the bun is the real deal.  It has the right amount of savory and the right amount of sweet.  The egg over medium, provided just the right amount of yolk gooeyness without it being a disaster to eat; my friend asked for an over medium egg and got something closer to over easy, which cause bun disintegration.  The bacon was pretty solid, it was cooked at the right level to be both crispy and tender; I applaud the cook that day on his skills cooking it.  The ketchup was a very mild chipotle flavor, so mild, it was hardly noticeable.

All in all, the sandwich did not disappoint, and I’ll be back again.

Rating: 9/10

Eggslut
3708 Las Vegas Blvd. South

Las Vegas, NV 89109

(702)698-7000

Inside The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

